Aeroflot Chess : Sasikiran in joint lead after round 2

Sasikiran is in joint lead with full points at the end of round 2 of Aeroflot Chess being held in Russia. Vishy Anand’s Second, Sandipan Chanda lost his second game on the trot!

Round 2 results

Sasikiran (2) 2682 beat GM Potkin Vladimir 2605

Adhiban (1.5) drew Svetushkin Dmitry 2592

Vidit (1.5) drew GM Fedoseev Vladimir 2674

Sethuraman (1) beat Svane Rasmus 2509

Sandipan Chanda (0) lost to Idani Pouya 2496

Ankit Rajpara (0.5) lost to GM Khismatullin Denis 2650

Vishnu Prasanna (0.5) lost to GM Shimanov Aleksandr 2594

Swayams Mishra (1) drew GM Anton Guijarro David 2614

All Results : http://www.chess-results.com/tnr164197.aspx?lan=1&art=2&rd=2&wi=821

Humpy eliminated by Mariya Muzychuk, meets Harika in semis. Pogonina faces Cramling

In a tragic turn of events, Humpy blundered in a complicated winning position in the second tie break game and was knocked out of the Women’s World Chess championship.

Humpy was the top seed and tournament favorite! All credit goes to Mariya who played some gutsy chess. Per the official twitter account, Mariya was overwhelmed by emotions and was apparently crying!

In other games, Pogonina beat Zhao (CHN) and 51 year old Pia Cramling (!!) Of Sweden beat Mariya’s sister Anna!

Semi final matches:

Muzychuk 2526 (UKR) vs Harika 2492 (IND)

Pogonina (RUS) vs Cramling (SWE)

Karpos Open Chess, Mar 27 – Apr 3, 9 round swiss, ELØ 2046, Macedonia

Follow Chess is now broadcasting Karpos Open Chess tournament being held in Skopje, Macedonia from March 27 to April 3rd.

Top Players

1 GM Ivanisevic Ivan SRB 2638
2 GM Tkachiev Vladislav FRA 2634
3 GM Perunovic Milos SRB 2632
4 GM Kozul Zdenko CRO 2630
5 GM Georgiev Kiril BUL 2623

Schedule

1 3/27/2015 17:30 CET 16:30 GMT 22:00 IST
2 3/28/2015 9:30 CET 8:30 GMT 14:00 IST
3 3/28/2015 17:30 CET 16:30 GMT 22:00 IST
4 3/29/2015 17:30 CET 16:30 GMT 22:00 IST
5 3/30/2015 17:30 CET 16:30 GMT 22:00 IST
6 3/31/2015 17:30 CET 16:30 GMT 22:00 IST
7 4/1/2015 17:30 CET 16:30 GMT 22:00 IST
8 4/2/2015 17:30 CET 16:30 GMT 22:00 IST
9 4/3/2015 9:30 CET 8:30 GMT 14:00 IST

Official website http://skopje-2015.chessmix.com/

Chess results : http://www.chess-results.com/tnr160396.aspx?lan=1

Aeroflot Open Chess, Mar 27 – Apr 4, 9 rounds swiss, ELØ 2582, Russia

The very strong Aeroflot Open 2015 Chess tourney has begun. Its a 9 round swiss tourney with ELØ 2582!

Top players (A)

1 GM Mamedyarov Shakhriyar AZE 2756
2 GM Nepomniachtchi Ian RUS 2714
3 GM Rapport Richard HUN 2709
4 GM Vallejo Pons Francisco ESP 2708
5 GM Inarkiev Ernesto RUS 2706

Indian players (also playing in the A group)

8 GM Sasikiran Krishnan IND 2682
18 GM Adhiban B. IND 2646
24 GM Vidit Santosh Gujrathi IND 2625
25 GM Sethuraman S.P. IND 2623
45 GM Sandipan Chanda IND 2569
63 GM Ankit R. Rajpara IND 2477
64 GM Vishnu Prasanna. V IND 2477
68 IM Swayams Mishra IND 2440

Schedule

1 3/27/2015 15:00 MSK (UTC+3) 12:00 GMT 17:30 IST
2 3/28/2015 15:00 MSK (UTC+3) 12:00 GMT 17:30 IST
3 3/29/2015 15:00 MSK (UTC+3) 12:00 GMT 17:30 IST
4 3/30/2015 15:00 MSK (UTC+3) 12:00 GMT 17:30 IST
5 3/31/2015 15:00 MSK (UTC+3) 12:00 GMT 17:30 IST
6 4/1/2015 15:00 MSK (UTC+3) 12:00 GMT 17:30 IST
7 4/2/2015 15:00 MSK (UTC+3) 12:00 GMT 17:30 IST
8 4/3/2015 15:00 MSK (UTC+3) 12:00 GMT 17:30 IST
9 4/4/2015 15:00 MSK (UTC+3) 12:00 GMT 17:30 IST

Official website : http://ruchess.ru/championship/detail/2014/aeroflotopen2015/

You can follow the live games in Follow Chess App!

38th San Sebastian Chess, Mar 28 – Apr 4, 9 rounds swiss, ELØ 1830, Spain

Follow Chess will be broadcasting the 38th San Sebastian Chess tourney, which takes place in the city of San Sebastian, Spain from March 28, 2015 to April 4th, 2015.

Schedule (9 round swiss)

1 3/28/2015 17:00 CET 16:00 GMT 21:30 IST
2 3/29/2015 10:00 CET 9:00 GMT 14:30 IST
3 3/29/2015 17:00 CET 16:00 GMT 21:30 IST
4 3/30/2015 17:00 CET 16:00 GMT 21:30 IST
5 3/31/2015 17:00 CET 16:00 GMT 21:30 IST
6 4/1/2015 17:00 CET 16:00 GMT 21:30 IST
7 4/2/2015 17:00 CET 16:00 GMT 21:30 IST
8 4/3/2015 17:00 CET 16:00 GMT 21:30 IST
9 4/4/2015 10:00 CET 9:00 GMT 14:30 IST

Top Seeds

1 GM VAZQUEZ IGARZA Renier ESP 2596
2 GM EPISHIN Vladimir RUS 2563
3 IM ANDRES GONZALEZ Alberto ESP 2515
4 GM LIBISZEWSKI Fabien FRA 2514
5 GM CHABANON Jean-Luc FRA 2491

Official website : http://www.fgajedrez.org/open/en/

WorldWomenChess : Harika advances to Semis; others play tie breaks

Women’s World Chess championship round 4.2 results

1. Harika (2492) beat Arabidze (2374) in a nice instructive Rook endgame. Harika is through to the Semi finals where she will meet the winner of Humpy vs Muzychuk

2. Humpy (2581) beat Mariya Muzychuk (2526)

3. Zhao (2527) lost to Pogonina (2456)

4. Anna Muzychuk (Mariya’s sister!) (2552) drew Cramling (2495)

2, 3 & 4 play tie breaks on Saturday.

You can follow the live games in Follow Chess App!